Update – Andrew Perera

RS Alumnus Andrew Perera–an Eric Freed Peace & Justice Award winner from this last year–has given us an update on his life and work after graduation. Here is his note:

Hi classmates and colleagues! I trust you are all excited for your classes in the coming days. I’d like to update you all on the goings-on of my life, post baccalaureate. I have been hired on as a biology and ecology teacher at St. Lawrence middle school in Santa Clara. As many of you know, I spent 4 years studying biology before switching to Religious Studies. However, I am still trying to change the whole education system to be more inclusive and critical, which means that eventually I have to move back into Social Studies to continue that mission.

I am starting a M.Ed. program at Notre Dame de Namur University in Belmont, where I will also earn 2 single subject credentials (biology and Social Science). Classes (as a teacher and as a student) start this week so I am about to enter into a world of business. Just in time to welcome our son, Finn, into the world. I will send photos of my classes and of Finn in due time.

If you’d like, you can find me on Facebook and I will add you. My name there is Andrew John Bear, or Papa_the_redbear on Instagram. That would make it easier to follow my classes and grad school process.

I miss you all and I will be visiting soon.

Be well in whatever you do,
Andrew Perera

Leave a Reply

